Parliamentary activity
Meetings and parliamentary engagements 

As it is not possible to meet MPs during the election campaign, we are rescheduling those meetings we had previously set up.  

We have one meeting scheduled for 28th June:
  • Peter Dowd, Labour MP for Bootle - which has high levels of deprivation 
Additionally, we are re-scheduling meetings with:
  • Education Select Committee member Ian Mearns
  • Defra Committee Chair Neil Parish
  • Labour MP Diana Johnson
All these have retained their seats in the election.
Election engagement
Ahead of the election we identified 375 key parliamentary candidates who were either standing in marginal constituencies, had previously sat on the Health, Education or Defra select committees or the Dairy APPG, had a significant dairy industry presence in the constituency they were standing in, or had met us when they were MPs. We then asked them all to pledge their support for a new post-Brexit school milk scheme, pose with a pledge sign and share their support on social media. We received commitments from:

  • Liz McInnes, Labour Candidate for Heywood and Middleton (won seat)
  • Jo Platt, Labour candidate for Leigh (won seat)
  • Ruth Smeeth, Labour candidate for Stoke-on-Trent North (won seat)
  • David Drew, Labour Co-op candidate for Stroud (won seat)
  • Sir Vince Cable, Liberal Democrat candidate for Twickenham (won seat)
  • Rachael Maskell, Labour candidate for York Central (won seat)
  • Gary Puffett, Labour candidate for Aldershot
  • Gareth Barrett, Labour candidate for Brentwood and Ongar
  • Julian Huppert, Liberal Democrat candidate for Cambridge
  • Jim Eadie, SNP candidate for Edinburgh South
  • Michael Desmond, Labour candidate for Faversham and Mid Kent
  • Lisa Smart, Liberal Democrat candidate for Hazel Grove
  • Sir Alan Meale, Labour candidate for Mansfield
  • Neil Dawson, Labour and Co-op candidate for Morley and Outwood
  • Marie Chadwick, Liberal Democrat candidate for Newton Abbot
  • Jeanie Falconer, Liberal Democrat candidate for North Herefordshire
  • Dr Kirsten Johnson, Liberal Democrat candidate for Oxford East
  • Margaret Ritchie, SDLP candidate for South Down
  • Claire Young, Liberal Democrat candidate for Thornbury and Yate
  • Deborah Brewer, Liberal Democrat candidate for Torbay
  • Dr James Davies, Conservative candidate for Vale of Clwyd
We hope to secure meetings with those candidates who have won their seats in the near future.  

Additionally, we sent request to the main opposition parties to include in their manifestos a commitment to a post-Brexit school milk scheme and extend the nursery milk scheme to all children in reception year. Although none of these manifestos featured an explicit commitment in these areas, the high-profile school food and nutrition has taken in the election is a positive sign for the future of school and nursery milk schemes.

Back to Members Updates